Archive | 9:33 pm

il Lido Italian Dining & Lounge Bar, Sentosa

9 Sep

Been dying to visit il Lido, and last week I finally did – on a degustation date with M. The weather was wonderful – rare and perfect for alfresco dining. We made a reservation (please do!), and headed down to Sentosa.

As alluded to above, we both had the Chef’s Degustation Menu – S$158++ per pax.

The bread basket with 2 dinner rolls, a multigrain roll, and a ciabatta was amazing. Nothing in the world beats warm, homemade bread. As expected, it was refilled without us having to ask for it.

Cantaloupe Soup

Chef’s first compliments. I loved the pureed cantaloupe. The flower, on the other hand, was pretty to look at, but not wonderful to taste, because it was made of onions, which I am not partial towards.

Fried Risotto Balls

Second compliments from the chef. This was the most amazing little thing I’ve ever popped into my mouth. Pretty sure the outside was a potato ball. M disagrees, but to which he had no solution to. So potato ball it is. The inside was the best creamy and cheesy mushroom risotto we’ve ever had, and mind you, we are picky with our risottos! It was so good we contemplated ordering a dozen more.

Crab Salad with Peach and Tomato Salsa

This was simply amazing. The crab was so juicy, juicer than any crab I’ve ever tasted. It was so fresh I could almost taste the sea. You might think I’m exaggerating, but honestly, as I chewed the crab and salmon roe, it felt like I was eating it by the seashore. The salad on the side was intriguing too. There was this fragrance attaching to the salad, but neither of us could pinpoint what herb it was. There was no green vegetable taste of any sort, just this wonderful and beautiful taste and smell. Lavender, perhaps?

Pan Roasted Goose Liver with Butternut Cake and Marsala

This was an insane dish of foie gras. Loved how it was fatty, yet not too fatty, and meaty, yet not too meaty. Even M, who does not typically enjoy foie gras, loved it. The butternut cake that the foie gras sat atop was good too. Just butternut and a bit of flour to hold the squash together.

Seared Scallops on a Pea Bed

This is the alternative to the foie gras, for those who do not eat foie gras for ethical reasons or otherwise. Although we had a tiny little qualm about the scallop being slightly overcooked, it was amazing. Taste-wise, perfectly marinated, without losing its natural taste. The pea puree was decent, but the big and thick bed of green substance was an overkill. But it looks good for presentation, I must say.

Tagliolini with Lobster and Moscato Rosé

Another dish that threw me back to the sea. The lobster was bursting with such freshness and juiciness I couldn’t stop chewing on it although I’m terribly allergic to it. The tagliolini was perfectly al dente, but we hardly tasted any sweetness of the rosé.

Prime Beef Tenderlion with White Asparagus and Truffle Jus

By this time, I must say I was immensely stuffed. But I couldn’t stop eating this dish until the plate was clean. Ordered it medium rare, and the way the chef did it, it was the rarest medium rare I’ve ever had. It looks and tastes more rare than medium rare, does it not? But no complaints, because I like my beef bloody. Loved how it was subtly marinated with herbs, such that the herbs were present, but did not fight with the beef to shine on the dish.

Molten Lava Chocolate Cake with Strawberries and Balsamic

Bursting of chocolate goodness, this one was. But perhaps a tad too much for our liking. Not that we don’t love chocolate – we love it. But it was slightly too much for our palette. Perhaps our stomachs were already bursting by then. One cut into the cake, and warm chocolate simply oozed everywhere. Definitely loved the bed of strawberries and balsamic. The acidity complemented the acid undertones of the chocolate, and at the same time, contrasted with the sweetness of the chocolate. Ingenious.

Traditional Tiramisu

Loved the mascarpone cheese and coffee liquer, but didn’t quite like the sponge, which was a tad too heavy for my liking (M was fine with it). But still, a wonderful tiramisu, one of the best I’ve tasted in Singapore.

My verdict: 6/5 spoonfuls. It was truly an out-of-the-world dining experience, and the best meal I’ve ever had in my life.